Help With ILS Landing in Thomas Ruth A310-300 Freeware in FS

Share info about flight simulation related to PIA and Pakistan's civil & military aviation.


faisal-777
Registered Member
Posts: 541
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:02 pm

Help With ILS Landing in Thomas Ruth A310-300 Freeware in FS

Post by faisal-777 » Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:32 pm

Hi,

I am flying Thomas Ruth A310-300 in PIA livery. I cannot figure out how to use ILS for landing this aircraft in FSX. Can someone help with the right dials and procedure for using ILS for landing ? I can easily do it on Boeings & other Airbuses panels, but cannot figure it out on A310-300.

Regards
Once you have tasted flight, you will ever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward - Leonardo Da Vinci


User avatar
raihans
Registered Member
Posts: 4407
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 5:09 pm
Location: Kuwait

Re: Help With ILS Landing in Thomas Ruth A310-300 Freeware i

Post by raihans » Sun May 11, 2014 4:20 pm

share the panel screenshot, might be i can help you...

btw, procedure for ILS is simple, tune NAV1 to rwy/ILS frequency & on autopilot console, you have to enter course for rwy heading and engage APP along with A/T, Speed if you are already flying with autopilot - AP mode.

if you are flying IFR, ATC will advice you to descend to certain height at which you can establish on ILS and continue approach using the autopilot. Once you are established on ILS, you have to disengage APP around 5 NM from touchdown and disengage A/T & Speed at around 3NM from touchdown and manually control the final phase of landing i.e. speed, flare etc.
Raihan SR Bakhsh

flickr.com/photos/raihanshahzad
EY-B77W, A345, A320, A319, EK-B773, B77W, A388, FZ-B738, GF-L1011, B732, A332, A320, A319, KU-A343, AB6, A310, A320, NL-A320, PK-B707/720, B733, B772, B77L, AB4, A310, A320, QR-A320, A333, B788

faisal-777
Registered Member
Posts: 541
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:02 pm

Re: Help With ILS Landing in Thomas Ruth A310-300 Freeware i

Post by faisal-777 » Thu May 15, 2014 11:42 pm

Thank you raihan bhai. Just reinstalled FSX. Will post a snapshot soon !

I do know the entire ILS procedure. I do it easily on other aircraft. However, with A310, pushing that landing button crashes the aircraft instead of gliding it to the runway
Once you have tasted flight, you will ever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward - Leonardo Da Vinci

faisal-777
Registered Member
Posts: 541
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:02 pm

Re: Help With ILS Landing in Thomas Ruth A310-300 Freeware i

Post by faisal-777 » Sun Aug 10, 2014 5:34 pm

Image

Here is the snap of virtual cockpit. I know to use ILS with other cockpit but this one is rather confusing. Which buttons are you supposed to press ?
Once you have tasted flight, you will ever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward - Leonardo Da Vinci

faisal-777
Registered Member
Posts: 541
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:02 pm

Re: Help With ILS Landing in Thomas Ruth A310-300 Freeware in FS

Post by faisal-777 » Sun Apr 30, 2017 1:08 am

OK an old topic but I started playing FSX again and still cannot figure out ILS landing on this model A310 by Thomas Ruth
Once you have tasted flight, you will ever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward - Leonardo Da Vinci

User avatar
raihans
Registered Member
Posts: 4407
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 5:09 pm
Location: Kuwait

Re: Help With ILS Landing in Thomas Ruth A310-300 Freeware in FS

Post by raihans » Sun May 21, 2017 3:56 pm

will let you know by evening, when i will load TR A310 in FSX :mrgreen:
Raihan SR Bakhsh

flickr.com/photos/raihanshahzad
EY-B77W, A345, A320, A319, EK-B773, B77W, A388, FZ-B738, GF-L1011, B732, A332, A320, A319, KU-A343, AB6, A310, A320, NL-A320, PK-B707/720, B733, B772, B77L, AB4, A310, A320, QR-A320, A333, B788

User avatar
raihans
Registered Member
Posts: 4407
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 5:09 pm
Location: Kuwait

Re: Help With ILS Landing in Thomas Ruth A310-300 Freeware in FS

Post by raihans » Sun May 21, 2017 11:49 pm

- tune ILS freq on NAV1 and Course of rwy in CRS
- ensure AP is engaged
- A/THR is engaged with appropriate approach speed and flaps
- toggle GPS/NAV ILS to NAV ILS mode
- while intercepting ILS, click on LAND button
- AP will follow the Localized and Glide slope till the threshold of runway
and usually 10nm out at approximate 3000ft AGL you need to intercept the ILS or follow ILS approach plates of particular airport you are flying in to

Image
Raihan SR Bakhsh

flickr.com/photos/raihanshahzad
EY-B77W, A345, A320, A319, EK-B773, B77W, A388, FZ-B738, GF-L1011, B732, A332, A320, A319, KU-A343, AB6, A310, A320, NL-A320, PK-B707/720, B733, B772, B77L, AB4, A310, A320, QR-A320, A333, B788

faisal-777
Registered Member
Posts: 541
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:02 pm

Re: Help With ILS Landing in Thomas Ruth A310-300 Freeware in FS

Post by faisal-777 » Tue May 23, 2017 1:01 am

Thank you Raihan bhai for the support. The problem is I exactly followed this procedure and here's what happens:

- When changing the GPS to NAV, the plane does turn to align with the runway.
- When pressing LAND after establishing on localizer, either two things happen:
1. The plane starts to descend with high descent rate and crashes several nm before the runway
2. It continues a level flight and crosses the runway.


I suspect some problem with model maybe.

I thoroughly love this Thomas Ruth model. Excellent performance and details, very detailed and smooth physics
Once you have tasted flight, you will ever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward - Leonardo Da Vinci

User avatar
raihans
Registered Member
Posts: 4407
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 5:09 pm
Location: Kuwait

Re: Help With ILS Landing in Thomas Ruth A310-300 Freeware in FS

Post by raihans » Tue May 23, 2017 2:43 pm

faisal-777 wrote:
Tue May 23, 2017 1:01 am
Thank you Raihan bhai for the support. The problem is I exactly followed this procedure and here's what happens:

- When changing the GPS to NAV, the plane does turn to align with the runway.
- When pressing LAND after establishing on localizer, either two things happen:
1. The plane starts to descend with high descent rate and crashes several nm before the runway
2. It continues a level flight and crosses the runway.


I suspect some problem with model maybe.

I thoroughly love this Thomas Ruth model. Excellent performance and details, very detailed and smooth physics
then this problem is not with A310 most probably, may be the ILS/GS not properly aligned with runway you are attempting to land, have you tested on different airports?

Also, check if you are not having multiple afcads of particular airport which might be overlapping ILS signals; regarding speed on approach, you need to control speed manually as per flaps deployment, weight, wind factors etc

As far as A310 not following GS, might be you are high on approach to intercept, read the ILS chart of particular airway/runway, what altitude you need to be and at what distance (dme) from VOR and accordingly fly it.

when you intercept ILS, check the diamond of Glide slope on PFD, it should be in center if you successfully captured, if its above then you need to climb and if its below then you need to descend to capture ILS GS.
Raihan SR Bakhsh

flickr.com/photos/raihanshahzad
EY-B77W, A345, A320, A319, EK-B773, B77W, A388, FZ-B738, GF-L1011, B732, A332, A320, A319, KU-A343, AB6, A310, A320, NL-A320, PK-B707/720, B733, B772, B77L, AB4, A310, A320, QR-A320, A333, B788

faisal-777
Registered Member
Posts: 541
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:02 pm

Re: Help With ILS Landing in Thomas Ruth A310-300 Freeware in FS

Post by faisal-777 » Tue May 23, 2017 10:50 pm

raihans wrote:
Tue May 23, 2017 2:43 pm
faisal-777 wrote:
Tue May 23, 2017 1:01 am
Thank you Raihan bhai for the support. The problem is I exactly followed this procedure and here's what happens:

- When changing the GPS to NAV, the plane does turn to align with the runway.
- When pressing LAND after establishing on localizer, either two things happen:
1. The plane starts to descend with high descent rate and crashes several nm before the runway
2. It continues a level flight and crosses the runway.


I suspect some problem with model maybe.

I thoroughly love this Thomas Ruth model. Excellent performance and details, very detailed and smooth physics
then this problem is not with A310 most probably, may be the ILS/GS not properly aligned with runway you are attempting to land, have you tested on different airports?

Also, check if you are not having multiple afcads of particular airport which might be overlapping ILS signals; regarding speed on approach, you need to control speed manually as per flaps deployment, weight, wind factors etc

As far as A310 not following GS, might be you are high on approach to intercept, read the ILS chart of particular airway/runway, what altitude you need to be and at what distance (dme) from VOR and accordingly fly it.

when you intercept ILS, check the diamond of Glide slope on PFD, it should be in center if you successfully captured, if its above then you need to climb and if its below then you need to descend to capture ILS GS.
Thank you, I will try the last tip. Though it is not possible to be above or below G/S because ATC always asks you 'to maintain x000 ft until established on localizer'. And then ILS system itself turns off ALT HOLD and starts to descend. With A310 I think you have to push the LAND button for that manually. Not sure though.

Yes I have tested with different airports and this model does not perform well. I have addons for ISB, LHE and all other planes are able to land without issues. With A310, same issue with whatever airport I use.
Once you have tasted flight, you will ever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward - Leonardo Da Vinci