Fire Warning Pakistan Seven Zero Three

Discuss issues and news related to PIA, Pakistani airlines and Pakistan's civil & military aviation.
smhusain_1
Registered Member

Fire Warning Pakistan Seven Zero Three

Post by smhusain_1 »

June 25, 1977, Sector Orly to John F. Kennedy, aircraft registration is AP-AYW, a B747-282B and our call sign Pakistan Seven Zero Three.

This as my second flight with Capt Anwar Khan after completing a DXB-FRA-ORY-FRA-DXB pattern earlier with him om June 8 and 9, 1977.

I was a raw B747 First Officer, having completed my training earlier that year on March 27 in Denver, Colorado, and my first flight as copilot B747 on April 13. We departed Orly at 2013Z (Z=UTC/GMT) for Kennedy Airport. It was summer, so our departure was in daylight with the Captain flying the sector and Flight Engineer Hassan Mirza looking after the aircraft systems.

Our Oceanic Entry is over Ireland near Cork, and after getting in contact with Shanwick Oceanic prior to reaching, we are given our route clearance over the Atlantic in the form of Track-Foxtrot in the North Atlantic Track System, which I have to read back backwards from exit to entry, in form of coordinates, latitude and longitude forming different reporting points en-route at 15, 20, 30, 40 and 50 degrees west to Gander, the other point across the ocean and our exit. The track coordinates are entered into the triple INS (Inertial Navigation System) systems we carry on board. This system is self contained in the aircraft and does not rely on any outside aid for navigation.